Let The Count Down Begin

99 Problems

99 Problems (Photo credit: Lulu Hoeller)

There are 99 days left in 2013 and this gives us the perfect opportunity to set goals.  I do enjoy goal setting and I am even part of a group of Facebook where we post up a 30 day challenge at the beginning of every month.  Through these challenges I have learned that it not just about reaching a goal but what you discover about yourself along the way.  For instance, I wanted to cut down on eating out so I threw out the challenge of limiting restaurant visits to celebrations only.  Before you ask, yes, Sunday night football counts as a celebration.

I came to realize that I wasn’t just going out for convenience  but I was feeding my need to be around other people.  I am extremely extraverted and am energized by places crowded with other individuals even if I’m not interacting with them.  Because I work out of my apartment I was going out and grabbing a bite not because I didn’t feel like taking all that time to defrost that Trader Joe’s chicken burrito but to have some company.

My recommendation for an end of the year challenge, go big, put something out there that you really want to accomplish and set monthly goals that align with what you are trying to accomplish.  So, if you want to lose 15 lbs. set your 30 day goal at getting in 10,000 steps each day or making sure you get your daily serving of vegetables.  Focus on the small stuff and set up a daily check-list of healthy living task.  Also, it would help if you came up with some system to keep you accountable. Things like purchasing some classes, signing up with a coach, or getting your friends to withhold your favorite pillow until you accomplish your goal kick in that little extra motivation when you start to flag.

As always, more about me: iBehaviorcoach.com

 

Leave a Reply

