Laying the Foundation

We all have the ability to succeed it is just a matter of discovering our individualized approach and committing to workable, realistic goals.

Losing weight and living a healthy lifestyle is a learnable skill.  Many of us stumble when trying to adopt an approach that just doesn’t make sense when jammed into what you already have going on.  Honestly, it is not entirely your fault if you have been trying for years to lose weight without success.  There is so much misinformation out there that ranges from the obscure to just insane.  Seriously, does it make sense that taking a bath in ice-water is a sustainable, realistic way to drop the pounds?

We will be looking at how you can change your mind in order to change your life.  Living healthy is a matter of choice and when I sit here and tell you that you choose to be over weight understand that I speak from personal experience.  After graduate school I found myself about 65 pounds heavier then I am now, I was unhappy with my life, I drank way to much alcohol and had no problem finishing a bag of chips in front of the TV.  The thing is, I chose to be this way, I knew what I needed to do to maintain a healthy weight, I had been a personal trainer and spin instructor for almost 15 years at this point.

“But Matt!” You say, “I have been trying to lose weight for years, it is always on my mind, how could you be so callous?”  Bare with me here and just take a moment to think.  True weight loss isn’t a sprint, it is a way of living that takes tenacity and long-term commitment.  Aside from a small percentage of the population that have diagnosed biological issues I guarantee that if we trace the journeys you have taken in the past nothing was done long-term.  Having worked with hundreds of individuals I have found that most people describe there efforts in terms of days and weeks instead of months and years.  The reality is, this is what sells, 100 pounds in 100 days sounds better then stay mindful for the rest of your life.

In my next post I will lay the foundation for this project in the mean time I want you to start thinking about what has and has not worked for you over the years.

Leave a Reply

