Only as Healthy as You Think You Are

I love my job(s)!  I wondering how many people can actually say that about the work that they do day in and day out.  Working with individuals to improve their lives is amazingly rewarding and I have gleaned a lot of knowledge of the las decade-and-a-half.  This blog is about inspiring individuals and delivering information that professionals need to keep their clients motivated dedicated to long term life-style change.

I have been a personal trainer for over fifteen-years have worked with hundreds of people that were looking for answers their problem.  At first I thought that problem was being over weight and focused and how quickly I could help someone drop pounds.  The longer I stayed in the business the more apparent it came to me that this was much more about losing weight these individuals were looking for happiness.  There expectation was that they could go on autopilot with me for a couple of months and come out on the other end looking better and feeling happier.

The reality was people would lose weight, drop a waist or dress size, and they would stop coming to our sessions.  I will see them back a couple months later some pounds heavier then they were when they left and back in a funk.  It took me a while to figure out that there was more to getting people in shape then kicking their butts in the weight room.  I went back to school to earn a master’s degree in clinical psychology with an emphasis in health psychology.  I wanted to understand how to break through my clients greatest barriers to healthy living, themselves.

This blog will be part of a website that I have to give my followers and clients day to day updates and information around the psychology of healthy living.  I hope to develop some products based on this niche and create a small business that gets this information out to health and fitness professionals.  I want to inspire people from time to time but my focus will be on discussing strategies and developing a community around this topic.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Matt Lawson

Leave a Reply

